PARTNERS IN CRIME

Date
19-05-2019
Time
11:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Venue
Literature Lounge
Price
£9 (excl. fees)
Book tickets More events

About the Event

BBC Radio 2 producer Joe Haddow talks to Alex Michaelides (The Silent Patient) and Vanessa Savage (The Woman In The Dark) about their debut novels, predicted to be the biggest debut thrillers of 2019 and a must for every ‘To Read’ pile. The Silent Patient, soon to be a major film, has been pegged as ‘smart, sophisticated suspense’ by Lee Child and tells the story of Alicia who hasn’t spoken a word since she shot her husband five times. The Woman In The Dark, for fans of Clare Mackintosh and B.A. Paris, is a chilling tale of family dysfunction and the secret haunting of a happily married couple since moving to their new home.

About the Authors

Alex Michaelides read English at Cambridge University and screenwriting at the American Film Institute. He wrote the film The Devil You Know starring Rosamund Pike, and co-wrote The Con is On. His debut novel, The Silent Patient, is also being developed into a major motion picture, and has been sold in a world record-breaking forty-two territories worldwide. Born in Cyprus to a Greek-Cypriot father and English mother, Michaelides now lives in London, England.

Vanessa Savage is a graphic designer and illustrator. She has twice been awarded a Writers’ Bursary by Literature Wales, most recently for The Woman in the Dark. She won the Myriad Editions First Crimes competition in 2016 and her work has been highly commended in the Yeovil International Fiction Prize, short listed for the Harry Bowling Prize, and the Caledonia Fiction Prize. She is on the current longlist for the Bath Novel Award.

Reviews

‘The perfect thriller’ A. J. FINN, AUTHOR OF THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW, ON THE SILENT PATIENT

‘A totally original psychological mystery’ DAVID BALDACCI ON THE SILENT PATIENT

‘Smart, sophisticated suspense’ LEE CHILD ON THE SILENT PATIENT

‘Absolutely brilliant’ STEPHEN FRY ON THE SILENT PATIENT

‘Highly recommended’ C.J. TUDOR ON THE SILENT PATIENT