DIALOGUE BOOKS: START THE CONVERSATION

Date
19-05-2019
Time
5:30 PM - 6:30 PM
Venue
Literature Lounge
Price
£9 (excl. fees)
Book tickets More events

About the Event

Publisher Sharmaine Lovegrove talks to Niven Govinden (The Brutal House) and Saskia Vogel (Permission) about their new novels publishing this year with Lovegrove’s imprint at Little, Brown set up to illuminate voices often excluded from the mainstream. Award winning Govinden has been called ‘a true force of fierceness and beauty’ by author and journalist Olivia Laing and writer and translator Vogel’s Permission is a raw, fresh, honest and haunting literary debut. These authors’ novels will be on bedside tables everywhere and are truly ones to watch for 2019.

Reviews

‘Niven Govinden is a true force of fierceness and beauty’ OLIVIA LIANG ON THE BRUTAL HOUSE

‘A vital book’ ANDREW MCMILLAN ON THE BRUTAL HOUSE

‘Beautifully written, mysterious and compelling’ JANET FITCH ON PERMISSON

‘If Joan Didion had written about the BDSM community in LA it may have felt a bit like Permission’ LIT HUB MUST READ BOOKS OF 2019  ON PERMISSON

‘[A] quietly transgressive tale of desire, love, loneliness, restraint and connection. The writing is fresh and minimal and the characters full of longing. A blistering debut for fans of Mary Gaitskill and A. M. Homes’  SARAH JANE ROBERTS ON PERMISSON